09 March 2016


Naveen Kaushik, Ph.D student, IITBNF, Electrical Engineering, IIT Bombay received the Weikfield Malhotra Foundation NanoScience Fellowship Award for the year 2016 in the recently concluded 8th Bangalore INDIA NANO conference, Bangalore.

On asking Naveen about this award, he shared that, “Weikfield Malhotra Foundation award is given to outstanding Ph.D students working in the area of NanoScience every year in Bangalore India Nano. This is the first time that I won this award."

The award carries a cash prize of Rs.50, 000/- and a certificate.

“I am really pleased and honored to receive this award and it becomes more special for me as I received it from Bharat Ratna Prof. C.N.R Rao." He added.

Naveen won this award for his work done on metal contacts to Molybdenum disulfide (MoS2) published in APL-2014 and CMOS compatible n and p-type doping of MoS2 Published in ACS-AMI and ACS-NANO.

At present, Naveen is working on suspended MoS2 transistor (featured in Raith calendar-2016) to study the substrate effects on transport (current flow in MoS2 transistor) and flicker noise.